If eating pancakes for dinner is wrong, I don’t want to be right

 Once upon a time, I had a little boy who would eat basically anything.  He stole whole onions from my CSA box and ate them raw.  But now my little boy edges ever closer to being two years old and is developing independence and more thoughts about what he likes and does not like.  He has his own opinions about what he would like to eat.  So, after several months of tears from both him and me at dinner time, I think we’ve figured out what to do (for now) to make dinner better and that is pancakes.  I know it seems decadent.  Really? You’re going to feed your 20.5 month old child pancakes every night?  Sort of… is that bad?  Whatever, we’re rogue parenting over here!

Basically the deal is texture not taste and a beautifully forming OCD about dirty hands, which btw I’m so on board with.  Yes, please no gross sticky fingers.  And he likes having his face washed.  I think I may be to blame for this whole issue…

So, do to the issue being texture, that means I can hide all sorts of yummies in the pancakes.  Tonight we had sweet potato and cranberry pancakes.  I’d like to also mention that it won’t be all pancakes all the time.  He also enjoys muffins, hot dogs, bananas, saltines (that child loves a plan saltine, don’t even think about putting peanut butter on it!), goldfishes, etc.  Actually he’ll eat quite a bit especially during the day, but dinner time is especially tricky because he’s very tired so I’m trying to make it less stressful.  I’m also going to try some meatloaf (from ground turkey) to see if that has an acceptable texture, maybe meatballs as well.  So, look forward to more of that on the blog and I’ll take any suggestions you have.  Maybe I’ll have an ongoing report on how to trick your child into eating delicious food.  I’m thinking I can also sneak in flaxseed and bulgur wheat, etc.

Okay so here’s my recipe for sweet potato and cranberry pancakes.  Please note that I did take some short cuts and I’m not ashamed.

  • 1 small can of chopped or whole sweet potatoes (that’s right, I work and don’t have time to make sweet potatoes from scratch)
  • 1 cup of whole wheat pastry flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill brand)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of milk
  • fresh cranberries, probably about 1 cup total
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ground ginger
  • all spice
  • nutmeg
  • cinnamon
  • ground cloves
  • vanilla extract
  • agave or other sweetener

Food process some of your cranberries, about half.  Add in sweet potatoes and food process until a puree texture (or you can leave it chunkier if you’re not also making for a kiddo and you like chunky food)

Mix everything together in a bowl.  Now you will note that the spices and sweetener and vanilla don’t have measurements.  I just add them until it’s delicious.  I know I shouldn’t try the batter with raw egg, but I do… I didn’t let Indie so that has to count for something.  I then took the other half of the cranberries and chopped them into bigger pieces because I like how tart they are and I wanted them to stand out.

Then cook like you cook pancakes.  Not really that hard.

A few notes:

This makes a very thick pancake.  If you want thinner batter just add more milk or some water. 

I served these with traditional pancake syrup, but I’m sure there are other toppings that would be delicious.

This made about 12 thin pancakes.  For me and Indie that’s about 3 meals worth. 🙂

Overall, these were a success.  There were no tears and no food throwing.

3 Comments

Filed under Recipe

3 responses to “If eating pancakes for dinner is wrong, I don’t want to be right

  1. bernadette

    hey if there was no llama llama dinner drama and llama momma was happy with lack of drama then so be it!!! this sounds healthier than hot dogs and mac cheese every night…could be worse my friend. and if no drama….hip hip hooray!!

  2. bernadette

    ps…what are the blog background pics of??

  3. purposefulchaos

    It’s of the cupcake display that I took a picture of at the tree thing. I cropped to only two of the cupcakes and added a time filter to it to make it in the style of picture from the 60s. It sounds way more complicated than it was.

Leave a Reply

