Lindsay vs Baby Weight Week 5

My goal this week was just to maintain.  We had Eric’s b’day party on Saturday and I knew between that and leftovers on Sunday, I probably wouldn’t shed any weight for my weigh in this morning and I was right. 🙂  But some weeks are just like that and for now I consider it positive that I didn’t gain anything.  However, I plan to try to take advantage of this week since I don’t have any major events and I’m in town.  Next week I’m out of town plus it’s halloween so that will be another just maintain week.

I’m in need of some sort of exercise/movement related longer term goal.  I found that I’m working to establish a routine, but I’m very much a goal oriented person and I need something that is motivating in that way so I have an idea of what I’m not working towards when I don’t do my exercise for the day.  Also known as I need a consequence. So, I’ll let you all in on a little secret: I have always wanted to be a runner.  I’ve tried several times to take on running, but ultimately always found an excuse to give up after a bit.  My main problem is that I’m kind of lazy and running is not something you can be lazy about.  I can be lazy about strength exercises, just pick a lighter weight, but running is just running and I could choose not to run as fast, but the fact of the matter is that even slow running is more energy than I like to do.  So why do I want to run if this is the case?   Mostly because I think it looks like fun, hard work, but fun!  And at this point I have an incredibly active child and we would probably have more fun if I could run after him more. 🙂

At any rate, I’m going to do the Couch to 5K program.  It’s a nice way to ease yourself into running when you’re a lazy pants like me.  Based on the length of the program, I should actually finish up on my birthday week and meet my goal by December 17.  Two days after my birthday.  Sounds like a good birthday present to me!

This week’s program looks like this:

Workout 1: Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes.

Workout 2: Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes.

Workout 3: Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes.

The other 4 days I will do some sort of exercise for 30 minutes.  May be walking, strength, yoga.  All that’s important to me is that I make the time to move. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under weight loss

3 responses to “Lindsay vs Baby Weight Week 5

  1. bernadette

    i enjoy running also. just something about it. i like biking also. i have started running at the gym. run some/walk some….i like this running schedule. we should get trained to do a 5k this spring!!??

    you also have a great jogging stroller and a great neighborhood to run in….and a son who would love the outing.

    great job on maintaining….that is key to lifestyle weight loss. good luck this week…. remember those boots were made for walking!

  2. purposefulchaos

    oh we definitely should do a 5K this spring. I intend to be able to run 5K by my birthday so the spring should be no problem. I was going to do a 5K in december, but that just sounded cold and miserable. 🙂

  3. Pingback: The Year 2010 in Review « Purposeful Chaos

Leave a Reply

