Salsa Verde and 18 months

Today I got tomatillas in the CSA box.  My asked Eric what they’re used for and he said oh things like salsa verde.  I love salsa verde and often wondered what was used to make it green salsa.  Clearly I am well educated when it comes to what my food is made of.  So, I whipped up a batch of salsa verde.  So delicious!

Oh food processor, you’re so amazing!

Here’s how I made the salsa.  I roasted a pound of tomatillos (cut into fourths), an onion (cut into fourths), 4 cloves of garlic, 2 jalapeno peppers (cute in half, you decide if you want to keep the seeds).  I put them in the oven at 450 for about 15 minutes of until the tomatillos are soft.  If you had the grill already going you could put them in some foil and throw them on the grill.  Once roasted, throw into the food processor with a bunch of cilantro, juice from half a lime, and salt.  Food process until you like the consistency.  Easy peasy!

In non food related news, the little man is officially 18 months now.  Oh how he has grown and continues to become more and more of a little boy and less of a baby every day.  He’s going to day care 5 days of the week now instead of just 3.  Every other day was too stressful for the little man.  He doesn’t understand Tuesday and Thursday are days at home.  He was getting very upset about going.  But within the first week of having him there every day, he’s been significantly happier.  By the third day when I dropped him off, he wiggled out of my arms and took off playing.  I was chatting with his teacher for a minute and Indie turned and looked at me, waved and said bye bye.

We discovered that he does hip preppy just as well as he does hipster rock and roll.  He’s like the littlest member of Vampire Weekend in this outfit.

I’m not sure what this face/pose is, but it’s pretty funny!

3 Comments

Filed under Indie, Recipe, vegetarian

3 responses to “Salsa Verde and 18 months

  1. bernadette

    wow…linz most impressed with the salsa stuff!! wow…indie is growing like a weed and is getting cuter by the picture….love it!!!

  2. i love him! Why is he so cute and adorable in his baby style awesomeness!? Loving the salsa verde…I too always wondered what those tomatillas were for!

  3. Pingback: The Year 2010 in Review « Purposeful Chaos

Leave a Reply

