Raspberry Island (Madeline Island – Post 4)

We went to see Raspberry Island on our last day of vacation (but don’t worry, I’m just posting out of order so there will be a few more vacation posts before I’m done).   Madeline Island is part of the Apostle Islands.  There are 22 apostle islands.  The rest are part of the national forest, except Madeline.  There were several different tours we could take, but we decided to go for the one where we got to tour the lighthouse.  We were certainly glad that we did opt for Raspberry Island as it was a very interesting place.  It’s one of the only places that has never been logged so there are some very large trees on the island.  It’s such an interesting place and you can tell it has never really been lived on.  Very cool.  Indie was a very big fan.

We had to go from Madeline Island to the mainland (Bayfield, WI) and get back on a boat to go out on our tour.

Eric and Indie waiting for the ferry on Madeline Island.  Look at that sky.  It was such a beautiful day.

On the ferry on our way to Bayfield.

The parents on the ferry! We had a few extra hours in Bayfield so we did a bit of shopping.  We also ate a great lunch at one of the inns that had been around for over 100 years.

Then we got on the boat to go to Raspberry Island.  On the way, we say the northern most point of Wisconsin, pictured above.  I was determined to get a picture of this and make sure I didn’t confuse it with pictures of the other islands.  I have no idea why I decided this was so important…

This is the little shed on the dock of Raspberry Island.  Once you get to the island, the first thing you have to do is go up 70ish steps to the light house.  It’s also important to note that they have no trash cans on the island so everything you bring with, you have to take back.  It’s probably the cleanest place I have ever been in my life.

Here is the lighthouse!  Please note that I almost forgot to take a picture of this….

Part of the lighthouse tour was of course going up to the top.  Eric and Indie did not go up as Eric is not a fan of heights.  He gave it a shot, but ultimately decided not for him.  My dad is also not a fan of heights, but went up to the top.  He determined that all his PS3 gaming has helped his ability to deal with heights.  I went to the top and took a picture of the boys below.

Then we took a little hike over to the beach, which I posted pictures of yesterday.  Along the way there were some very pretty berries.  Here are the blue ones.

And here are the red ones.

My dad is a speed hiker and I managed to keep up with him on the hike over to the beach.  So I feel like boot camp is serving its intended purpose.  I hiked with my mom on the way back.  She was pretty sure there was a bear and we had a bit of a freak out, but no bear and we’re all still alive.  Sorry mom, just had to tell a bit of the story. *smiles*  Picture above is of Indie and his pops.  They’re getting to be fast friends.  I see much picking on Linds coming in the future.

Here’s another attempt at being artistic from me.  Oh birch drift wood….

My boys on our way back to the lighthouse.  Indie loves riding on his dad’s shoulders.  It’s so cute.

After we got back to the lighthouse, Indie entertained everyone with his shenanigans (I have more baby model pictures of Indie, but am planning a separate post for those).  Right before I snapped this picture, Indie did his adorable little back up and check to see if he can sit yet, back up a little more, check to see if it’s safe, until it’s safe to sit on the object he’s attempting to sit on.  Two ladies were watching him and they were all oh my gosh he’s going to sit on it!!

More attempts at artisticness by me.

Artistic attempt shot of the front of the boat.

On the way back to the mainland from our island adventures.  Shortly after we just got on another ferry to head back to Madeline Island.

1 Comment

Filed under Indie, Travel

One response to “Raspberry Island (Madeline Island – Post 4)

  1. bernadette

    i love the fact that we went to tour the lighthouse and opted to enjoy the beach and not tour the lighthouse!! the beach was the prettiest ever. and the boat ride was so refreshing. next year we attempt to go sailing…wonder if ps3 will help with that!!! thanks for the post and pics!

Leave a Reply

