Last week of October

We are about to embark upon the last week of October.  This week is a short work week for me as I have Thursday and Friday off since my mom will be coming into town for the weekend! I kind of look at the end of October as being the end of fall.  We don’t switch right into winter in November, but here in Wisconsin it tends to get unpredictable once November rolls around. 

So, with that in mind here are some thoughts for the last week of the “season” or at least my definition of the season.

I will no longer read only blogs written by stay at home moms.  It’s starting to drive me crazy because I think of all the things I could be doing if I stayed at home with Indie.  I need to move on and realize that’s not my life, it will probably never be my life and I need to make the most and best of the life I have.  If anyone has any good blog suggestions, let me know!

This winter I am considering learning how to cross country ski.  I’m thinking I’ll just pop Indie into the hiking back pack and obviously we won’t spend too long out and about, but I thought it might be fun and get us out of the house for the winter.

I plan to use our inside time this winter to actually organize the house.  I know I’ve been working on this one for quite a while, but we’ve made some progress with the general living areas and just need to focus on some of the storage areas.   I think we’ll be much happier if we can make this happen.

I will actually be at home with my family when I am at home.  Work stays at the office and needs to invade my personal life less.  We’ll see how that goes!  But I do need a reminder that this is an appropriate balance.  Too much work is not an appropriate balance.

Happy end of fall to you all!

3 Comments

Filed under Chaos

3 responses to “Last week of October

  1. bernadette hoyt

    you make me laugh!! the domestic blogs are a bit frustrating….like the applesauce making fling!! apples apples apples….pics pics pics….ect ect ect and ya think they discovered the cured for cancer … duh, we’ve been making applesauce for centuries! now, i do appreciate talent and design and networking…so sometimes you gotta go thru the flinging mess to get to the creation!

    i think cross country skiing is a very northern winter get your cheeks looking healthy kind of sport!! see if you can find a place that rents xcountry skiis before you purchase … so you can discover the joy or the agony of the sport. would be a fun outing with your playgroup. and it is awesome exercise. let us know on the outcome of this thought!

    yes…are lives are what they are. we can alter, shift and progress but balance and reality are the source of joy. as they say …all work and not play make for a very wadded up individual (or something like that!)

    so…go fling some applesauce …and smile 🙂

  2. bernadette hoyt

    you can tell i wrote the previous post pre coffee with antihistamines on board…note the many typos!!!

  3. agree, best to accept the life you have (because its a good one!) and be happy:) May I recommend the container store for your organizational needs….I just like to drool over their website sometimes….that is one area of my life I probably shouldn’t accept and get a move on changing as well:)

Leave a Reply

