Recipe: Refridgerator Pickles

I really really love pickles.  I always have.  Specifically I like dill pickles that are super crunchy.  I’m not a fan of sweet pickles and I’m not a fan of soggy pickles.  So I made some pickles of my own, with my mom’s help while she was in town over labor day weekend.  Also, thanks to my dad who hunted down the fresh dill at the farmer’s market.  It was a big day for dill and everyone was out!

As promised the recipe for my refridgerator pickles.  This is just for basic dill pickles.  I have been dreaming up some additional yummies to add with the dill, but haven’t thoroughly tried those out yet. I haven’t managed to find time to make the banana peppers yet, but I will post about those when I do (it’s been a crazy week at work, I don’t even want to discuss).

What you’ll need:

  • pickling cucumbers
  • A jar (nothing special about the jar, feel free to recycle 🙂 )
  • 1 tbsp pickling spice
  • fresh dill (as much as you want)
  • 3/4 cup white vinegar
  • garlic (as much as you want)
  • 4 Tbsp kosher salt
  • 4 Cups boiled water that has been cooled

Making the  Brine

  1. Boil 4 cups of water and let cool completely.
  2. Add 3/4 cup of vinegar and 4 tbsp of kosher salt to the cool water and stir. Brine is complete.

Prepping the cucumbers

  1. I used whole pickling cucumbers, but you can slice them if you would like.  Wash cucumbers.
  2. Put a layer of fresh dill on the bottom of the jar.
  3. Add in your garlic (I minced my garlic).
  4. Add in 1 tbsp of pickling spice.
  5. Put cucumbers in the jar.
  6. Layer fresh dill on top of cucumbers.
  7. Add in brine and place the lid on the jar.
  8. Let the jar sit on the counter for 2 days and then put in the fridge.  We tested our pickles after a week and they were amazing!!! Super crunchy!

Some tips and tricks

  • If the lid to your jar has exposed metal, place seran or cling wrap over the open jar mouth prior to placing the lid on the jar.  This will prevent corrosion of the metal by the vinegar (thanks mom for that one!)
  • You can cool the boiled water faster in the freezer.  Also, we have a japanese hot water pot and that was handing to quickly get my boiled water.
  • Fresh dill can sometimes be hard to find in WI for whatever reason.  You could use dried dill instead.
  • Experiment with adding additional stuff.  We put two red hot peppers and a jalepeno in one of our pickle batches.  We left them whole so it added a little zing, but the pickles aren’t hot.  I’m attempting to figure out making hotter pickles for Eric so next time I will try cutting them up.  Also would be interested to try sweet bell peppers.

Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Recipe

3 responses to “Recipe: Refridgerator Pickles

  1. bernadette hoyt

    so martha stewart of you. and they look so pretty and sounds like they tasted very yummy too!!

  2. who knew it was so easy! I always thought it was so much more:) Thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Weekend Fun(ish) « Purposeful Chaos

Leave a Reply

