Little Bitty Hands

Life has been pretty crazy the last few weeks.  Last week I was in STL all week and worked 80 hours.  Ridiculous, I know!  This week I’m trying to cram 5 days of work into 3 and trying to catch up from last week all while teaching classes at work for 2 days.  Needless to say I’m just holding my breath until I make it through tomorrow and can be on vacation for 5 days. In the midst of all of this, I am exceptionally happy to be home after a week away.

One of my favourite parts of the day is giving Indie his bed time bottle.  His room is dark and quiet.  I rock him and sing silly little kid songs to him.  I don’t remember all of the words to the songs as I haven’t sang them since my childhood, but he doesn’t seem to mind when I make up nonsense.  For the past couple of nights, he’s been holding onto my thumb while he has his bottle and drifts off.  Tonight I noticed how amazing his little baby hands are.  A perfect little hand, so much like an adult’s but so distinctly a baby’s.  Someday he’ll bring us surprises of bugs, worms, and other various creatures with those hands.  Someday we’ll be washing the dirt that a little boy collects off those hands.  Someday those little hands will create something that will be so distinctly Indie.  Someday those little hands will be big hands and they will have all the wear and tear of time marked on them as we all do. Someday those hands will be bigger and stronger than mine (most likely sooner rather than later).  But for now they’re just tiny, soft perfect little hands that are discovering all that is new and fresh to a perfectly unbiased, not yet jaded little creature.

3 Comments

Filed under Indie, Love

3 responses to “Little Bitty Hands

  1. Amber

    You almost made me cry. They grow up so fast and yet you seem to cherish these small moments so much more. You are such a wonderful mom. I’m a little more appreciative of my children’s hands now, even though they pick their noses and try to eat it and bite their nails and many other gross things.
    Congrats on the Etsy shop…it is the entrepreneurial spirit in your family. I can’t wait to see it.

  2. now I look like a goof trying not to cry in Panera:) Love this! So true!

  3. bernadette hoyt

    this week while holding and rocking indy i noticed his hands wrapped around mine and i thought how soft and white his hands are compared to my sun tanned and aged hand! and then you write this and i think…wow, i’m so glad you became a mom to experience the love of a child, which there is none like it! you are a great mom 🙂 and indy is a sweetie!

Leave a Reply

